• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • An issue to open the Proengineer file

    Discussion in 'Creo or Pro/Engineer' started by nguyen, Apr 2, 2013.

    1. nguyen

      nguyen New Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2012
      Posts:
      4
      Likes Received:
      0
      Dear All,
      I have an issue to open the file that i save from .sldprt to .prt? I use the proe 5.o, by the way i'm a new former in proe, please share if you have any suggestions to me to use it.

      thanks,
       
    2.  
    3. CPPMable

      CPPMable Well-Known Member

      Joined:
      Nov 2012
      Posts:
      101
      Likes Received:
      0
      .sldprt is a solidworks file correct? Unfortunetly PTC (Maker of Creo) does not have the function to convert from solidworks to Creo/ProEngineer. You should be able to open the files as solid geometry import though but won't have control over any of the geometry. Solidworks does however have the capability to open most of PTC CAD modeling program files.
       
    4. CADfix

      CADfix New Member

      Joined:
      Nov 2014
      Posts:
      3
      Likes Received:
      0
      Nguyen,
      Many of the CAD packages have translators that are good to a point: the problem is that they will only manage files of particular versions, and they do not have any finer control. Translation software needs to be right up to date to ensure a trustworthy conversion. My two suggestions would be:
      1 - Try using another format. If possible use Parasolid instead of sldprt, this should be more reliable (if you can get it).
      2 - Use a professional translation software such as CADfix. I am able to arrange this as a service.

      I hope this helps
       
    5. CPPMable

      CPPMable Well-Known Member

      Joined:
      Nov 2012
      Posts:
      101
      Likes Received:
      0
      There is a new ability in Creo 3 which has been built on this functionality of cross platform sharing. It even converts features to their respective feature in the new format. I have never had good luck with CADfix with any models I have used it on. Maybe some simpler models it can pump out no problem. The new functionality in Creo 3 is pretty impressive in its ability. Some major collaboration between different vendors to get it to its current point.
       
    6. DINESH

      DINESH New Member

      Joined:
      Jan 2017
      Posts:
      3
      Likes Received:
      0
       
    7. DINESH

      DINESH New Member

      Joined:
      Jan 2017
      Posts:
      3
      Likes Received:
      0
      Hi all
      I work as application Engg. My work is to educate Engg and organisations on the capabilities and values of design software's.

      Creo has the capability to save the solid words file as .prt file, but u need unite technology adaptors for that which will come along with the package. With this u can even edit solid works file by direct modelling capabilities or u can edit the pattern or symmetry made in solid works in Creo environment
       
    8. DINESH

      DINESH New Member

      Joined:
      Jan 2017
      Posts:
      3
      Likes Received:
      0

      I don't agree with u
       
    9. Erich

      Erich Well-Known Member

      Joined:
      Feb 2012
      Posts:
      239
      Likes Received:
      2
      Hey Dinesh, the original post was made over 3.5 years ago. Perhaps Creo has made some changes in that time.

      By the way, welcome to the forum. You are not the first new member to dredge up ancient and dead conversations by replying to their search results.
       
    10. CPPMable

      CPPMable Well-Known Member

      Joined:
      Nov 2012
      Posts:
      101
      Likes Received:
      0
      As a matter of fact Creo is now capable of saving and editing native solid works files without loosing the file structure. There are a few bugs and bumpy spots. I believe this is a paid addition on top of the basic license.
       

    Share This Page