• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Basic Guidance Needed

Discussion in 'Calculations' started by Ste_Mulv, Jul 10, 2013.

1. Ste_Mulv

Ste_Mulv Member

Hi all,

I am not very good at this stuff at all and could do with help.
      Here is a sketch of what I am looking to do.

http://stevenmulvenna.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/photo-1.jpg

The weight of the load is 25kg and the load is to be lifted up and down, and the load will be passed to another wheel assembly either above or below. I am looking to size the wheels, chain, drive motor and springs, however just the motor size (or motors if anyone recommends that dual motors will be better) will do for now.

Can any one recommend how I can calculate the forces needed and then use this to size and specify a motor(s).
      Any other general comments of the design are more than welcome too, as I am going to use guess work to size the wheels and sprockets.

Thanks for reading!

Steve

3. stevo1900

stevo1900 Member

This is a big job to work out all those parts. I'm having trouble visualizing exactly what's going on but I might be able to give you a starting point.

You want to know the work that the motor is doing. So firstly you'll need to know the forces working against it. Start with 25Kg x 9.81 = 245.25N. Is that 25Kg the total mass of the hole assembly when loaded?

On a basic level you can calculate the torque produced by that force on a certain size sprocket and then try to match that to a motor. If there are no motors close then change the size of the sprocket.

Not understanding exactly what's going on makes it hard to suggest much else. Hopefully this will spur some replies from our other members.

Steve.

Last edited: Jul 16, 2013
    4. mecano

mecano New Member

I do not see sense in rollers on the right. Suffice upper drive shaft. Everyone else should do quieting material.

5. Ste_Mulv

Ste_Mulv Member

Hi Steve,

Thanks for coming back, that is a helpful start.