• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • bit of fun (perpetual motion machines)

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by Bobamuntung, Mar 3, 2011.

1. Bobamuntung

Bobamuntung New Member

I am by no means an engineer. I am arts trained of all things. However, I came accross something that got my head scratching.

Why wont http://www.lolpics.se/6400-science this work?

I hope the answer isnt too obvious... I'll feel a bit daft. It would need development and refining I'm sure.

Thanks to anyone that takes a look at it.

3. GarethW

GarethW Chief Clicker Staff Member

The 1st law of thermodynamics state that energy can't be created or destroyed, but only changed to different forms. In the case of this, the energy generated would annoyingly be lost via heat (friction).

4. GarethW

Hey - just a thought....

...we could have a Mechanical Design Forum "design a perpetual motion machine" competition or something!!

or we could all get together and design an "open source" perpetual motion machine :D

5. Bobamuntung

Bobamuntung New Member

So all (haha) we need is a frictionless surface coating?

You are saying the bubble chain links just wouldnt move at all?

Thanks for the response to something so frivilous. Just caught my imagination!

6. GarethW

I don't think it's frivolous at all - people have been trying to develop them for centuries! I find the concept of perpetual motion pretty facinating - it's mechanical engineering's version of alchemy.

In the case of the machine you linked to, I think that the seal would stop movement completely. It would need to be very tight to seal effectively.

Here's a good article you might like to check out:

Perpetual Futility - A short history of the search for perpetual motion by Donald E. Simanek

Wikipedia also have some interesting info and images

7. spiceage

spiceage Member