• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Books on Internal Combustion Engine design

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by coolgoose, May 28, 2013.

1. coolgoose

coolgoose Member

Hi Everyone,

Can someone point me to a good resource on designing an internal combustion engine? I am looking for books that design engineers use for designing IC engines.

Little about me, I am a software engineer with a passion for IC engines. Recently I have restored a 1972 Honda CB750 and got hooked on IC engines from then on. I would love to learn more about how designers design these IC engines that power motorcycles, automobiles etc

Thanks a lot for your time!
      Coolgoose

3. james.coaley

james.coaley New Member

Hello,

About me: I wrote a dissertation on an engine related project and am now trying to begin a career in the automotive industry.

I've not found a step by step guide to engine design out there are detailed design considerations for each part of an engine could be a book in itself.

I used the book Introduction to Internal Combustion Engines by Richard Stone (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Introduction-Internal-Combustion-Engines-Richard/dp/023057663X) lots as it gives a good overview of all aspects of the engine and isn't difficult to read. The book Internal Combustion Engine Fundamentals by John Haywood is similar but older.

I would recommend the book by Stone as it would give you a good insight into the complexities of a modern internal combustion engine and describes many of the parameters that an engine designer would use.

Hope this is useful.

James

4. coolgoose

coolgoose Member