• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Cylinder head machining

Discussion in 'Machining' started by Kuba, Apr 13, 2013.

1. Kuba

Kuba New Member

Hi everyone,

I'm a Production Engineering student and I'm working on the project concerning cylinder head manufacturing process. I would be most grateful if you could spare some time and explain me what does the process look like after casting and emptying the inner spaces of sand cores? How many times do the flat surfaces need to be milled to match required dimensions? What's there to be bored? How long do the operations last?

I look forward to your replies.

3. bill7718

bill7718 Member

As a former tool and die maker I have used most machines, both CNC and manual. To produce a variety of parts from many materials. I'll need to see what you are speaking of, If you have CAD files, I use SolidWorks, SolidEdge, Inventor, AutoCad, 3Ds Max, and Rhino. I also have Illustrator, Coreldraw,PhotoShop and Faststone Image Viewer.

4. tomwuofjizu

tomwuofjizu New Member

Hi, Kuba, Try to explain to you: for example of casting, when we finish pouring and it cool down, we should:
      1. cut off the runner & riser;
      2. grind off the parting lines, sands, left runner & riser etc;
      3. Sand blasting;
      4. Rough machining,
      5. final machining,

Different parts have different requirements and processes.

5. Steve6br

Steve6br Member