• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Do you use dual monitors?

    Discussion in '2D and 3D CAD general discussion forum' started by GarethW, Apr 13, 2013.

    1. GarethW

      GarethW Chief Clicker Staff Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2009
      Posts:
      1,424
      Likes Received:
      5
      Currently I work with a single 28" widescreen monitor. I am thinking of adding a second and becoming one of those "dual monitor" people. Does anyone else here use dual monitors? I am using SolidWorks. Any advantages or disadvatages technical or otherwise? Does all that head movement make you dizzy? :D Will I look more important?
       
    2.  
    3. razorcd

      razorcd Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2011
      Posts:
      8
      Likes Received:
      0
      I am using a 24'' as my main screen and a 15'' screen as my second with a lower luminosity so it;s not too hard on my eyes..
      I use the second one mostly for references, skype, web.
      It helps a lot and I recommend you get a second one too. You can choose a cheaper screen too if you just use it for some toolbars, web... it's ok. I think it's important that the pixel size of the 2 screens are about the same so when you move a window from the 1st screen to the 2nd it will look the same size.
      Not sure if you will look more important but i am sure you will be more efficient.
       
    4. peter42

      peter42 New Member

      Joined:
      Apr 2013
      Posts:
      3
      Likes Received:
      0
      I use a wide screen monitor and an average one on the side. The wide one I use for drawing, on the second I have email and documents with info needed for the design. Also design tables appear there. In my opinion it absolutely is an asset to have 2 screens.
       
    5. atomic-z

      atomic-z Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2012
      Posts:
      11
      Likes Received:
      0
      I agree with the others that having two monitors is a great asset investment. It saves a lot of time and increases productivity as you don't need to switch or resize windows constantly, especially whenever you get a new email or instant message. I never spanned both screens with SolidWorks though, it was also set up to have SolidWorks on the "main" screen and supporting information (email, chat, tables/presentation/sketches) on the other.
       
    6. dilfred

      dilfred New Member

      Joined:
      Apr 2013
      Posts:
      2
      Likes Received:
      0
      I use 2 monitors for working with CATIA. Depending what I am doing I use them in 1 of 2 ways.

      Big assembly / drawings, I use split screen (or matrix screen) to have the whole of the CATIA window spanned across 2 windows. This is useful to be able to see more on 1 screen.

      If I am using reference drawings etc. then I can display that on 1 screen and the CAD on the other. Likewise if it's referencing anything else for that matter, or simply reading emails.

      Occasionally I run 2 CATIA sessions at once to cross reference, so i have each one on each screen, then I can just click between the 2 without changing windows or "tiling".

      All in all, it is amazing how much more helpful a 2nd screen is compared to just 1. I really struggle now to work on occasions with just 1 as there simply is not sufficient space on the screen.

      I notice that a number of people suggest lower resolution screens, but I suggest the same as that way you run with the same resolution/size and so there is no change when moving between screens.

      The only negative is the bezel between the 2 screens, especially if running the cad across both screens as the rotate point is almost always there. (hmm, 3 screens anyone???)
       
    7. Tuan B

      Tuan B Member

      Joined:
      Apr 2013
      Posts:
      7
      Likes Received:
      0
      Dual Monitors here. I now mostly do BOM/production related work but will step in and pull some slack when the drafters get backed up.
       
    8. lmiha81

      lmiha81 New Member

      Joined:
      Mar 2011
      Posts:
      1
      Likes Received:
      0
      Now I do, but I haven't been using dual monitors at my previous work places.
      It really comes in handy when you have a lot of external references that you need to work with (excel spreadsheets, word docs,, acrobat reader windows etc).
      Allows you to be more efficient I think.
       
    9. Dana

      Dana Well-Known Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2010
      Posts:
      342
      Likes Received:
      3
      I used two monitors for awhile, but too many programs got confused by the dual monitors... annoying to have a dialog pop up spanning the middle between them. Now I just use one large widescreen monitor.
       
    10. JeffYates

      JeffYates Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2011
      Posts:
      6
      Likes Received:
      0
      I use two monitors as I find it speeds up productivity. The second I use for reference material or for ease of creating BOM's. or reports on the work in hand.
       
    11. GarethW

      GarethW Chief Clicker Staff Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2009
      Posts:
      1,424
      Likes Received:
      5
      Had my 2nd monitor hooked up today. Felt a bit weird at first, but I'm already feeling the benefit of not having to flick between windows. I'm not yet used to the setup or feeling completely comfortable, but I'm sure I won't look back in a couple of days.
       

    Share This Page