• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Engineering Materials

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by juice01, Sep 20, 2010.

1. juice01

juice01 Member

Hi all.
      I am a first year engineering student currently studying engineering materials. The aim of the subject " is to aquire a broad knoledge of engineering materials, their properties and uses ".
      I have found a lot of info on material properties, but I cant find much on the uses of engineering materials.

Does anyone know of some sites where this kind of info would be available. I have the text book for the module but it doesnt have much at all on the uses of materials.

Any help would be really appreciated :D

Cheers
      Mick

3. jalatty

jalatty Member

Hello Mick,

Perhaps you should try to define what you mean by an "engineering material" as a starting point. From my standpoint, any material in existence is an "engineering material" because it can be considered to define a design. With this broad definition, finding uses for such should not be too difficult. You should probably stick to your module syllabus for the time being. What is the title of the text book for your module?

Regards,

Aaron

4. ProductiveCat

ProductiveCat Member

Hey there, Mick! Well, whaddya know? I'm an Engineering student and I'm ALSO new to the forums. I'm glad to have found another student to talk to! Neat! As far as Engineering materials goes, I'm not entirely sure on that definition myself. Perhaps it's labeled as something different in the classes that I'm taking. However, Aaron's definition seems to make sense. I suppose "engineering materials" could be something that's the "product" or "result' of engineering. I guess the best thing to do would be to ask your professor. I know I badger my professor's with questions all the time. Anyway, welcome to the forums! :)

5. Camid

Camid Well-Known Member

Hi Mick

Check out:
      http://www.amazon.co.uk/Manufacturing-P ... 0500513759