• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Fan Facts Help

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by AriLiquids, Dec 5, 2013.

1. AriLiquids

AriLiquids Member

Okay, engineers. Here's a great question. Can you answer it?

We desperately need an axial fan that:
      1. Puts out as much cfm as an off-the-shelf 16" stand fan or box fan
      2. Does it at only 400 to 600 rpm! (ordinary fans from China run at 1,000 rpm or a little more.)
      I mean, why not? I don't see why it could not be done using a slighter larger diameter blade than normal, together with a lot more fan blade surface than regular, and maybe a heavy tilt to the blade...possibly it would have to be boxed in with a tube around it, I don't know...

We need the smallest diameter blade possible, just for esthetic reasons.

Anyway...I'm not an aeronautical engineer, just a product designer in a little over his head.

Can anyone apply standard fan engineering and give me rough specs for such a thing? Thank you ever so!

3. Dana

Dana Well-Known Member

To get the same air velocity at half the rpm, you need twice the pitch (blade angle). But if there's too much pitch, the blades will stall. High pitch will also impart more of a swirling motion to the air rather than pushing it through. One possibility is two fans with a stator between them to reduce the swirl.

4. Roy_Kliffen

Roy_Kliffen Member

Simply changing the pitch won't be enough I'm afraid.