• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • foundation year engineering student

Discussion in 'Pop in and say hello!' started by jkf1192, May 7, 2012.

1. jkf1192

jkf1192 Member

Hi everyone,
      I am a foundation year student studying mechanical engineering at the university of salford.
      I just joined this forum, i hope it is beneficial for me. I wanted to ask you guys that is there anything beneficial that I should study during my summer holidays, before the start of my first year. :)

3. Abdulrahman

Abdulrahman New Member

Take deep breath my friend and have fun before you start.
      Best Regards,

Marine Eng. Abdulrahman

4. GarethW

GarethW Chief Clicker Staff Member

:D Sounds like great advice! Welcome to the forum both of you. I see that you're both using the new iPhone app. It's great to see this because we only just launched it!

5. jkf1192

jkf1192 Member

Cheers mate! Thanks for the reply. I have enjoyed studying the foundation year, cant wait for the real engineering to start. And gareth i got to know about your forum through app store. Looks to me like a great forum :D oh btw Ive got an exam tomorrow hope it goes well :)

6. GarethW

GarethW Chief Clicker Staff Member

Best of luck with the exam. Hope it goes well!

7. mhjones12

mhjones12 Well-Known Member

My advice, after almost 10 years of collage and having applied for multiple positions for both internships and jobs at all degree levels, is NOT to strive for a high GPA. Instead, focus that extra effort on joining extracurricular engineering projects and groups (like Formula SAE, etc.) and get as much experience doing real engineering as possible. Also, every summer you need to make getting an internship a top priority. Your first couple years will likely be more math, physics, and humanities than engineering, but there are still internships out there for first and second year students.