• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Gear querry

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by theripley, Jan 31, 2011.

1. theripley

theripley New Member

Hi,

I'm a newbie so I hope you'll pardon my question since I'm an Electronics engr. by profession. Although I'm not so familiar with machine designing, my job requires me to be familiar.

I am scanning thru a catalogue & wondered what is the significant of the term "MODuLE"? I read thru wiki about its definition but I'm kinda not getting it. Example, if I have two gears (1 having 20 teeth ,other 40 teeth <1:2>) with the same pressure angle but different module, am I able to couple this two gears?

Pls help..Thanks

3. xmechanic

xmechanic Active Member

I'm not an engineer but it appears to me that module refers to gear tooth size and number of teeth per distance on circumference, therefore both gears would need same module.

I think I'm right on this

4. knwd

knwd New Member

xmechanic is correct. Module is a way of specifying a sort of "size" for gear teeth, basically how they are spaced.

m = d / N, where d = diameter (SI units) and N = number of teeth.

Essentially, the modulus determines the size of the gear, depending on the gear ratio you intend to use.

Hope this helps!

5. theripley

theripley New Member

I've been reading thru the net about module, truly it is the distance between each tooth on the gear therefore the pinion gear & the idler gear must have the same module. Both pinion & idler can be coupled even if they have different pressure angle, as long as they have the same module. (Please correct this if its wrong).

Question:
      Does module affects the load capacity of my gear? What is its other significance aside from ensuring both gears would fit in perfectly?

What affects the load capacity of the gear?

Thanks in advance.

6. maniacal_engineer

maniacal_engineer Well-Known Member