• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Gears & Shafts

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by greenguy, Nov 30, 2010.

1. greenguy

greenguy Member

I'm hoping to get some feedback on the best method(s) for mounting a gear to a shaft. I have a project underway that will use bevel, spur and ratchet gears. Fixing the gears to the shafts such that there is no slippage is critical. Yes, I'm a rookie.... Thanks,

Greenguy

3. swertel

swertel Active Member

There are some rules of thumb, but honestly the best approach is to contact the gear manufacturer or find the right page in their catalog that tells you what mounting positions and shaft tolerances are required for the best fit.

You may have a gear that is press fit and needs tight tolerance and fine surface finish on the shaft.
      You may have a gear that uses a compression fitting or collet to mount it.
      You may have a gear that requires a shoulder on the shaft to index against.

The only way to know for certain is to pick the gear you need, run the numbers to make sure your shaft strength is sufficient for cyclical loading, and then follow the manufacturer's guidelines for mounting.

I will warn you though, if you are designing your fit and REQUIRE bearing-grade adhesive (Loctite) for it to stay on, you did a poor design. Gears, pinions, bearings, and pulleys should not require Loctite to stay affixed to the shaft. Using Loctite is OK as a secondary joint, just don't make your design depend on it.

4. greenguy

greenguy Member

@ swertel - Thanks much. This seems to be a very common sense approach. And you provided clarity on the topic in general, and that is that there is no "one size fits all" approach to mounting the gears. Any feedback or experience on cold welding and its usefulness in mounting gears, bearings, etc. to a shaft?

5. swertel

swertel Active Member

I have honestly never heard the term "cold welding" applied to a gear joint before.