• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Has anyone designed a musical instrument?

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by GarethW, Apr 19, 2011.

1. GarethW

GarethW Chief Clicker Staff Member

I once designed an electric guitar with in-built amp and speaker when I was a student. I must dig out some pics/drawings to share....

Has anyone else designed, prototyped, or even manufactured a musical instrument of their own design? Is anyone planning such a project? It's an interesting subject to me and would be great to hear about other people's projects....

3. xmechanic

xmechanic Active Member

I have designed a tremolo bridge for electrical guitars. I came up with the concept a couple years ago. Second prototype a few months ago and working on 3rd prototype at the present. Well its not a musical instrument but it is a Rolls Royce approach to a problem.

4. GarethW

Nice - would love to see some pics, but I assume that IP is sensitive right now if it's work-in-progress?

5. GarethW

Here's some pics of the aformentioned electric guitar with in-built amp and speaker I designed/prototyped when I was a student. This is from 1996.

[​IMG]
      At the design show

[​IMG]
      A mate checking it out

[​IMG]
      The prototype in progess. The wooden parts are vac-forming moulds

[​IMG]
      The prototype in progess.

6. stewlenox

stewlenox Active Member

Hi Gareth,I confess to being inept at using the forum. I tried to drag and drop some pics, to no avail....I'm not sure what "hotlink" means. So this is a chance for me to learn if you can tell me.
      Thanks, Stewart.

7. GarethW

Hi Stewart: Here are the instructions on how to embed images that are hosted externally: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=35

8. GarethW

Alternatively you can email anything to me and I'll put it up on our own webspace if you like.
      gw@mechanicaldesignforum.com

9. GarethW

Hi Stewart. Thanks for emailing the pics. Here they are for all to enjoy:

[​IMG]
      [​IMG]