• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Hello and Help all in one

Discussion in 'Pop in and say hello!' started by JLandon, Nov 26, 2014.

1. JLandon

JLandon New Member

Hello all,

I have a few questions for some of the experienced people in the manufacturing industry. First, I'd like to thank you for your time reading this post and answering any or all of the questions asked. Or advising about anything that someone new to the industry may need to be aware of.

A quick bit about myself. I live in the U.S. where I served as an infantry marine. I survived 2 combat tours to Iraq. I'm 30 y/o and am looking to start my first business venture while completing my Bus Mgt. degree. I'm currently learning how to use some basic 3DCAD software (123D) to design a simple product, with the intent to prototype, manufacture, and market it. I have no experience in the process of tooling an injection mold for a plastic/rubber product, aside from a bit of research over the internet. Now to the questions...

Are there any posts about provisional patents?

I'm not sure the exact material I want to use for the final product. I plan to send my CAD off to a company like Shapeways to get it prototyped in several flexible materials. However, their options seem to be rather limited for types of materials. Any advice on other companies to look at to define the most effective material to use? I want to figure out the proper material, so I can adjust the dimensions properly before paying for an injection mold.

I've just started looking into what company to go with for the injection mold and mass production of my product. Is there a site that you can post on and have companies make bids on for the job? Even if only estimates. What is the best way to find a manufacturer to fit my needs?

Should I get the mold made at the same company that will be manufacturing the product?

Are there fees related to a company storing your mold in a safe environment?