• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Hello from a newbie to MDF

Discussion in 'Pop in and say hello!' started by jkfarmby, Jun 5, 2014.

1. jkfarmby

jkfarmby New Member

Hello,
      I am Justin Keatts from Hickory, NC. I am a Process Engineer by title but one thing that helped me get this job is my understanding of mechanical design. I started out as a farmer on a farm where we did all of our own maintenance and created many tools and pieces of equipment to help make our job easier. I then went into machining after a 2 year degree program. While in machining I had the opportunity to design and redesign components from time to time. After being in machining for 7 years I decided to go to night school so I could be an engineer. After completing my degree I was able to move into this Process Engineer position. Designing and redesigning is a small part of my job now. But I enjoy it when I have the opportunity and I am able to help others in their designs.
      I am fairly new to Inventor but I hope to be able to get some tips from the experts here. This and the fact that it's always nice to have a resource when designing new components is why I chose to join this site.

Life is Good,
      Justin

3. Matt Coughlin

Matt Coughlin Active Member

Hey Justin, welcome. It's always good to meet an engineer with some machining and process experience. I came from manufacturing and a "hands-on" background as well, then transitioned to design engineering. There are lots of good resources here.

4. jkfarmby

jkfarmby New Member

Resource Utilization

@ MattCoughlin:
      I am really happy with my career change.
      How do you normally utilize the resources here?
      • Search for a particular post title then read through the posts?
      • Post a question and wait (how long?) for a reply?
      • Look for tips or links that are made available? (Are there links, articles, and/or information available here in a separate area from the post threads?)