• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Hello From Winnipeg Manitoba Canada

Discussion in 'Pop in and say hello!' started by dycks den, Mar 8, 2013.

1. dycks den

dycks den New Member

My name is Dennis from Winnipeg Manitoba Canada. Stumbled across the site in my search for help on a tow bar I'm designing.

Unfortunately, I am not a mechanical engineer but am smart enough to know when I need help beyond my ability. By trade I have 3 Red Seal certificates as a mechanic and have been a Fleet Maintenance Director for the last 20+ years.

I will try to flesh out the plan as best as possible and hope there is some help on this site.

The idea is to create a collapsible tow bar that allows a standard size pickup truck to be towed behind a class 8 truck/tractor. The tow bar is attached to front of pickup truck, would then need to extend/retract much like a scissor lift action.

My challenge is to create the necessary linkage to activate the extension and retraction of the tow bar. If there is anyone interested in helping to calculate the linkage design it would be much appreciated.

Would like to attach an image but cannot seem to cop & paste or attach. My email address is cjddyck@gmail.com for those that are up for a challenge.

thanks

3. Parrleu

Parrleu Well-Known Member

Hi Dennis,

Welcome to the forum from some fellow forum newbies.