• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Help! Design a constuction lift?

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by thakao16, Jan 10, 2014.

1. thakao16

thakao16 New Member

Good day mates! This is my first time posting a thread here so please be kind to me. I'm sorry for wasting your time but I would like to ask some help here if you would please. The problem that I will state here is from Chapter 23 of M.E.D 4th Ed. by Mott. The problem is as stated.

Design a constuction lift. The lift will raise building materials from ground level to any height up to 40.0 ft (12.2m). The lift will be at the top of a rigid scaffold that is not a part of the design project. It will raise a load of up to 500 lb. (2.22kN) at the rate of 1. 0ft/s (0.30 m/s). The load will be on a pallet, 3.0 ft. By 4.0ft. (0.91mX1.2 2m). At the top of the lift , means must be provided to bring the load on to a platform that supports the lift.Design a constuction lift. The lift will raise building materials from ground level to any height up to 40.0 ft (12.2m). The lift will be at the top of a rigid scaffold that is not a part of the design project. It will raise a load of up to 500 lb. (2.22kN) at the rate of 1. 0ft/s (0.30 m/s). The load will be on a pallet, 3.0 ft. By 4.0ft. (0.91mX1.2 2m). At the top of the lift , means must be provided to bring the load on to a platform that supports the lift.

I would like to know how will I start there? Haha. I mean seriously, Im kind of lost here.

Thanks friends!

3. Lochnagar

Lochnagar Well-Known Member

One thing you should always do when you are tasked with a new design - is look at what your "competitors" have done - since it is very rare for something to be completely new.

I had a look at what Scanclimber do who are one of your "competitors" - and tracked down this very good video on Youtube (see hyperlink below) - of one of Scanclimber's products - being brought onto site and "assembled" - and put into action.