• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Help regarding Timing Pulley selection

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by yashu1991, Mar 28, 2014.

1. yashu1991

yashu1991 Member

Hello all,

I am a student working on a project in which I plan to use timing pulley and timing belt for the power transmission and speed reduction. I want the speed reduction to be 7:1. The diameter of the motor shaft (driver) is 6 mm and the driven shaft diameter is 1 inch. Can any one suggest me if I can achieve it in single step or I have to opt for compound pulleys ? I found the smaller pulley (type MXL, anodized aluminum) number of teeth: 20, OD: 0.685 in, Bore size: 0.25 in, Pitch dia: 0.509 in., 0.25 inch wide belt can fit in www.mcmaster.com. Please suggest me the suitable larger pulley and pitch of the belt that correctly meshes with both the pulleys so that I can achieve the desirable output speed and also source where you found. If this cannot be done in single stage what ratios should I use for intermediate stages? Help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Cheers !!!

3. bdeuell

bdeuell Member