• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Help with Gear system.

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by MariaNatalia, Aug 23, 2013.

1. MariaNatalia

MariaNatalia Member

Hello everybody, i'm new here. I have pretty low experience on mechanics.. so i decided to register here in order to see if the pro's wants to help me.

i'm building a vehicle with a 52cc (2-stroke) engine, it should have more torque than speed. (it should carry weight (200lbs) at pretty low speed(5-10mph) and i want it to make it "4x4". (that is why i'm using a small gear on the output of the engine and big gears on the shaft, in order to get more power than speed, am i right?).

so, what do you think it will be the best gear system to apply or order to distribute the power to the 2 shafts?

please see attached the 3 systems that I can imagine.. there should be and probably better, but as i said before i'm not experienced. so if you think there is a best way (it should be not so hard to achieve ..pleasee!! i'm making it myself and i'm a mom..) please share it.

thanks in advance,

Option A:
      [​IMG]

Option B:[​IMG]

Option C:
      [​IMG]
      Nat

3. Dana

Dana Well-Known Member

If that's a 2-stroke engine and you want low speed, you will need more reduction than that, multiple stages for sure. If the motor incorporates its own reduction gearing, then you might get away with how you've shown it. Of the three you've shown, A would work the best, B isn't good because there isn't enough of the chain in contact with the top sprocket and would put high side loads on the motor shaft, and C would not be as strong.

First you need to work out what gear ratio you need, based on the engine's RPM, the wheel diameter, and the desired speed.

4. mechaboy

mechaboy Active Member

in my opinion you need a gearbox before sprocket to achieve a suitable torque.i agree with Dana the first one is the best because:
      1-it's stronger and more effiecent
      2-nice balance and assembly