• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Hole size in relation to axle size in design.

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by omidontop, Jul 11, 2013.

1. omidontop

omidontop New Member

Hello Guys!

I have a very basic and simple question which might sound very stupid but forgive me as I'm not a Mechanical engineer but an Electrical one. I am however trying to design something all by myself!

I need to know when I design something - say a gearbox - what should I choose as the diameters both for the axles and the holes in the gears. I mean should I choose exactly the same diameters for both? Or if not, what's the rule of thumb in choosing one in relation to the other? I present the following cases :

1. If an axle is supposed to be coupled with a gear
      2. If a gear is to be able to rotate freely around an axle
      3. If a hole is supposed to have an axle (of a gear?) rotate inside of it freely as in the housing of the gears.

Thank you very much in advance.

Best Regards,
      Omid

3. MichaelCreighton

MichaelCreighton Member

This depends on what material your gears, axles, and gear box are made of. Most of my experience is with plastic gears on metal axles in plastic gear boxes. And they are usually always small, axles around 1/16" to 1/8" and gears typically not much larger than 1" in diameter.

So with that in mind, if a metal axle is supposed to be coupled with a plastic gear, go with the same dimension (for example, a 1/8" axle in a 1/8" hole in the gear). Or you could even go with a slightly smaller hole in the gear, maybe by .005" (for example, a 1/8" axle forced into a .120" hole). Ideally, you can use a set screw on the shoulder of the gear to tighten down on the axle.

If you want a plastic gear to rotate freely around a metal axle, make the hole in the gear about .005" larger than the axle (for example, a .130" hole for a .125" axle).