• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • how to control the product deformation!

Discussion in 'Plastic moulding' started by hello bowen, Oct 2, 2014.

1. hello bowen

hello bowen Member

Oct 2014
      Four years ago, i came to an interview for a injection mould designer. The interviewer asked me a question: if i give you a product, how to control this product deformation.
      Well, it’s very funny thing, at that time, i don’t know how to answer this question. Before when i designed the mould, the product material was designated by our clients, and other information about the mould design was designated by company. So that time i though i am not a designer, i just drawing.

Now, if someone ask me the same question. My answer was below:
      If you want to control the product deformation, follows need your consideration.

1. Type of material.
      There are two kinds of resin materials for injection molding: thermoplastics and thermosetting plastics. This time we talk about the thermoplastics.
      Thermoplastics can be categorized as amorphous and semi-crystalline plastics.
      (or we called crystallized plastic and non-crystallized plastic)
      Crystallized plastic has a higher and varied shrinkage rate than non crystallized plastic. So if we want get a less deformation product, first choice was non-crystallized.
      Crystallized plastic: PP, PE, POM,PA6,PA66
      Non-crystallized plastic: PC, ABS, PMMA,AS
      TIPS:eek:nce i saw it form a book. There has a easy way to distinguish the crystallized or non-crystallized. You just saw weather this plastic was transparent or not. If this plastic was transparent, that is Non-crystallized plastic. If half transparent or not transparent that is crystallized. Expect a special one, ABS, not transparent but it is non-crystallized plastic.
      The first step we should choose the right type of plastic. This is very important. But also we should consider it’s price.