• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • How to find damper force?

Discussion in 'Calculations' started by KevinC, May 24, 2014.

1. KevinC

KevinC Well-Known Member

Hi all,

I'm a mechanical engineer. I'm here stuck for more than a week now. Hope someone can shed a light onto my problem.

I'm working on a machine that is driven by a Pneumatic Piston that creates a tangential force (assume it is always tangential) at a distance from a pivot. Then after it's at a certain location, it hits a damper and slows down to stop.

I'm trying to find the Piston Force. Assume I know the angular decceleration rate (from sensor).

Since it's a Pneumatic Piston at motion, I do know know the actual force provided by the piston (I know it's pressure times area, but we don't know the instantaneous pressure at the point), so I need to solve all the forces in order to get the piston force.

So now I come to the damper,
      http://www.fujilatex.co.jp/en/wp-content/uploads/FA-FWM-2725.pdf
      The datasheet only state the max drag, and the absorption characteristic/stroke. It doesn't give me any equations to work with.
      Max absorption energy, Recovering power of the piston rod, max drag are just some big names I don't know how to make use of. Obviously I won't be using the biggest number from each field. How do I find the force in this damper at a given stroke length?

..........|<-........ (Piston Force)
      ..........|...........
      ......-> |........... (Damper)
      ..........|...........
      ..........o........... (pivot)

If someone can shed some light on how they calculate dampers, it will be great. (Not the damping ratio/factor type of stuff from school, I seriously can't make correlation from those to these damper here)

Thank you very much for at least reading this.

Kevin C

3. Lochnagar

Lochnagar Well-Known Member

Hi Kevin,