• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Looking for help - Power Hammer linkages [pic heavy]

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by leeknivek, Apr 8, 2015.

1. leeknivek

leeknivek New Member

Hello! I'm having some design issues.

I'm new here, obviously, but I am a blacksmith, among other things. I am not an engineer. I thought you fellows would probably enjoy this project I am doing - creating a mechanical power hammer - and might be willing to help me with some designs I'm playing around with in my head...

For a little background:

A blacksmith's power hammer has a special working principal that makes it so effective. It's relatively simple - a crank, a spring and toggle linkage, and a ram/hammer/tup. They connect in that order. What makes a "power" hammer different from any other - drop hammers (as the name says - uses gravity), trip hammers (uses toggles to amplify leverage while user pushes the hammer down by foot) - the power hammer's spring and toggle linkage allows the ram - the hammer - to have a variable stroke. This is important for working materials of various thickness, but, that's just the tip of the iceberg. A power hammer does not only use gravity to hit, but adds velocity, so that as the ram moves faster, the spring will compress more and give a "snap" to the ram, effectively giving more velocity to the static mass. Harder hits, move work done. (and these things will typically hit about 3 times a second).

There are two "main" types of linkage. One is DuPont style, with many patent-evading offshoots, and the other is the spring-helve type.

Here are some examples:

DuPont hammer:
      [​IMG]

DuPont linkage:
      [​IMG]

Spring helve:
      [​IMG]

[​IMG]

As one may notice, the DuPont style (which is the majority of all hammers) is particularly tall, and also puts 50+lbs of spinning steel right in one's face (on the littlest ones...), while the Spring Helve style is shorter but has a larger footprint.