• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Mechanical Design Engineer

Discussion in 'Jobs wanted' started by Zuzana, Jul 1, 2014.

1. Zuzana

Zuzana New Member

I am Mechanical Design Engineer.

I have 5 years experience with design of special purpose machines, products, tools and fixtures. I have experience also with correcting existing drawing and models, with remodel 2D into 3D and with making the drawings based on a sketch from customer.

I'm looking for new projects/contract or ongoing work to join the team.
      I have my own license for Inventor and Catia.

Zuzana E
      sk.linkedin.com/pub/zuzana-eliasova/90/70b/a05/

3. Lochnagar

Lochnagar Well-Known Member

Hi Zuzana,

I just thought I would give you my thoughts on your recent post. I considered outsourcing some design work to another country some two years ago - and after a lot of discussions with the other company (who were providing the engineers), I concluded that it was going to be more hassle than it was going to be of value.

Most companies have their own internal design standards - of how things have to be designed, so that was going to be a problem managing that, and most companies have library's of parts and assemblies that they want incorporated into new designs, and yes this can be done with a PDM system - however, this leaves companies very exposed since you are practically giving all your companies information over too these engineers working remotely, which leaves the company exposed to theft of intellectual property - which most companies are very concerned about. There was also going to be the issue of checking drawings in the design office (that were produced remotely), and that I sensed was going to be a lot of hassle, and possibly involve video conference calls - and that burns up time - and costs money. So I concluded that it was going to be very difficult to manage the other engineers remotely.