• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • motorcycle chain lubrication system

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by niclatrique, Apr 11, 2011.

1. niclatrique

niclatrique New Member

Hi,

I'm a hobbyist trying to resolve an issue.

I love riding my motorcycle but not having to lubricate the chain every 500km. That is for sure I could buy a Cameleon oiler or the Scottoiler which are devices specifically designed for this task. But to my opinion, there is a mojor disadvantage to those systems. They are both gravity based systems. It makes the flowrate of oil to the chain dependable to the temperature as the oil's viscosity chenges much with a few degrees(to my knowledge).

So, I decided to make my own "super-duper-BMW-chain-luber" !

You will then wonder (with reason): how Nicolas are you going to solve that flowrate issue ?
      Well, my answer to this is why not install a pumped oil system ?

So here is the purpose of this thread.

As it's a DIY or hobby project, it has to be a really low cost oiler. At least, a way cheaper than commercial systems like the Cameleon and the scottoiler. Cameleon = 180$; Scottoiler = 130$)

Then I imagined how to do the mechanical part of it. There is PLAN A and PLAN B.

PLAN A:
      A small reservoir of oil feeds a 1/8"OD tube to the chain through a miniature positive displacement pump (preferably a gear pump). The pump will be controlled by a microcontroller.

PLAN B:
      Take a 60ml syringe and fit a threaded rod in the middle of it. The threaded rod would go through the plunger and nut. A small 12Vdc or stepper motor would be atttached to the end of the syringe. So, at each motor pulses the rotating rod would for force the plunger to go down and the oil to be delivered.

QUESTIONS TO PLAN A: