• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Need Help | Calculation for plate that will be used for machine (i.e. mob crane body)

Discussion in 'Calculations' started by malberto, Jun 4, 2014.

1. malberto

malberto New Member

How are you doing guys? I am new in doing calculation for machine. I am currently have a task to provide sample calculation on how to determine the thickness of plate to be used in a machine like mobile crane, tower crane, boom lift, building maintenance equipment. Need to know the formulas that needs to be used in order for me to come up with a correct thickness of plate knowing that there are some attachments in the plate (body) like motor, shaft and so on. Hope you guys can help me with this.

Thank you in advance!:)

3. Lochnagar

Lochnagar Well-Known Member

It is hard to know from your question - what your background is in engineering. However, if you had studied engineering at university, you should have acquainted yourself with the basics of how to do this type of problem. If you haven't had the benefit of a university education - then you might find it "difficult".

There are many people around the world who make things - who don't understand the precise reason how it takes the load - or fails to take the load - but that is not the professional way of doing things.

If you have just forgotten how to do these things - then here is a good book to bring it all back to you -it is Roark's Formulaes for Stress and Strain - which is the engineers "bible" for hand calculations.

Hope this helps.

http://materiales.azc.uam.mx/gjl/Clases/MA10_I/Roark's formulas for stress and strain.pdf

4. KevinC

KevinC Well-Known Member

Sounds like you may not be from a mechanical engineering background. This is actually pretty complicated problem, and it can't be really resolved to a some very simple equations here. But here is the general flow of calculation.