• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Overmoulding Silicone/TPE onto a Printed Circuit Board

Discussion in 'Plastic moulding' started by harryhutton, Jul 3, 2014.

1. harryhutton

harryhutton New Member

Hey guys,

I'm a student trying to figure out how to manufacture a piece of wearable tech - wondering if anyone here might point me in the right direction.

The product is a wristband coated in TPE. What would be really nice is if I could overmould the TPE directly onto the PCB.
      I have been in contact with a couple of companies, and their response has been a) to overmould a PCB, one must go for a low pressure, low heat solution. This plastic is usually quite rigid - not the sort of flexibility suitable for a wristband. b) silicone / TPE requires high pressure, high heat. This more or less blasts the components off the PCB.

Hence its tricky. However, I took apart a Nike Fuelband (http://i.imgur.com/yhZkoJi.jpg) - and it seems they have managed it. They have used some sort of TPE (I think but I can't tell), and they have overmoulded it directly onto the PCB - I was able to peel it right off the surface (perhaps some sort of coating was used?)

How did they do it?

3. VJmech

VJmech New Member

Hi Harry

Normally to protect the board they will go with a LPM mold which uses a LPO resin .

But i guess the picture what ur showing is look like a shrink tube .

We can made a custom made shrink tube to ur size of the PCB (0.2 - 0.5 mm thickness) which is made of PET material (good wear resistance).

Once u insert on to ur PCB apply a hot air around it, now the PET tube will shrink and cover the PCB tightly .

The same principle we used in the wiring .

And i dont think it is a over mould, because if it is over mould it may be difficult to remove as u have done. some plastic definitely would have stuck on the PCB.

And iam so curious what board u have used, it is the Flexible PCB or FR1 or paper phenolic board?

4. srdfmc

srdfmc Well-Known Member