• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • plastic moulding vs. aluminum moulding

Discussion in 'Metal casting & moulding' started by Matti, Jan 24, 2013.

1. Matti

Matti New Member

I have some experience about plastic moulding, but on experience on metal moulding/casting. I assume metal moulding is more expensive than plastic. What is rough difference of costs if we would use aluminum molding instead of polycarbonate molding today?

3. tomatlots

tomatlots Member

If we generally compare die casting to injection molding, the tooling costs are in the same ballpark, with die casting usually less expensive. depending on part size, injection molding is usually faster in cycle time. You can go online to get the cost numbers for materials, but be sure to convert them from cost/pound to cost/volume.
      Your best bet is to make two different drawings of the part showing two different materials, and submit them to a few vendors asking for "ball park only" numbers.

4. ojacksonhill

ojacksonhill New Member

Hi, just to clarify Tomatlots' answer, the cost for the part will be cheaper if plastic injection moulded but the capital cost of a die casting tool is could be cheaper depending on the type of die casting. You can have bench die casting which is lower capital outlay for a fully manual process through to semi-automated pressure die casting with a much higher capital outlay. (And you can probably do metal injection moulding of aluminium too - which would be more expensive than a plastic injection mould tool).
      As for actual cost differences, this depends completely on the complexity of the part. A small straight open shut part will differ hugely to a complex part with side actions/unscrewing cores etc.
      Hope this vagueness is somewhat helpful.

5. Suresh Navandar

Suresh Navandar New Member