• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • project : flying probe tester

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by Naoumee, Feb 29, 2016.

1. Naoumee

Naoumee New Member

Hi
      I'm an engineer student and I want to buid a flying probe tester with two probes. I should make it so that the two probes won´t crash into each other. I 'm not good enough at mechanical design. Any suggestion please. I need your help

3. Dana

Dana Well-Known Member

What is a "flying probe tester"?

4. Naoumee

Naoumee New Member

Flying probe test systems are often used for testing PCB. they use electro-mechanically controlled probes to access components. Commonly used for test of analog components and short/open circuits.

5. robertjeffery

robertjeffery Active Member

A quick google of "Flying probe tester" brings up all these incredibly complex and accurate CNC probes. To what level do you want to produce your probe tester?

-what accuracy? +- .25mm maybe +- .05mm??
      -what roles are you performing with this tool?
      -does it actually require to be CNC?

You ask for suggestions in your initial post.
      relying on your desired accuracy isn't to ambitious, for a simple solution to your problem. research people who have made DIY CNC router and DIY CNC Plasma kits, I haven't actually done the homework myself, but I would expect a tolerance of +- .25mm. replace the tool with an electrical probe.

you then ask about, so they do not crash into each other......?? well generally its the cnc programmers job to ensure the tool doesn't crash into the chuck on a cnc lathe, I would expect it would be the same in this instance.

hope this might be of some help.

6. robertjeffery

http://editorial.designtaxi.com/news-pin3105/1.jpeg

Just an Blue Sky thought...