• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Pump pressure question

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by loveit, Apr 22, 2010.

1. loveit

loveit New Member

Guys,

I am a structural engineer but at work I am doing some minor mechanical work for the mech engineer while he is away on leave. I need clarification on the following problem and how to solve it.

I need to deliver a certain capacity in m3/s water. However the pipeline diameter measured on site is found to be 95% of what was originally designed. How much additional pump pressure is required to
      deliver still the same capacity. How can you achieve this?

I don't know the real figures of the orignal flow rate or pipeline but I guess if someone can show me with a sample calculation I can then apply this with the real figures.

Cheers,

Loveit

3. ConnectUTS

ConnectUTS Active Member

I assume you are talking about a change in internal diameter and not outside diameter. You the critical diameter is the inside diameter.

A 5% loss of inside diameter will result in a proximately a 10% loss in flow area. To maintain the same flow rate you velocity will increase by the same amount. For continuity volume flow rate is a function of area x flow rate.

Since the work is a function of velocity square this means that amount of energy will go up by approximately 20%.

Niel Leon

4. npanchal_007

npanchal_007 Member

pls mention following Detail

required head ,capacity

5. maniacal_engineer

maniacal_engineer Well-Known Member

I think ConnectUTS is right. All other things being equal the pressure drop will increase by 20%. Power is pressure times volume flow (with corrected units to get customary power units). So for the same flow it will be about 20% more power (actually 22.7%). However pressure drop is calculated in terms of fL/D (friction factor, length, diameter) and q (dynamic pressure) If we assume f is constant then L/D also changes by 5%.