• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Sealing a rectangular hole on a cylinder

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by Mechanic77, Feb 16, 2019.

1. Mechanic77

Mechanic77 New Member

Hi all,

I'm a Mechanical design engineer, new to design for sealing.

I was given a task at my workplace, to design a plastic cylinder (made of ABS+PC) with a rectangular hole (for a lens made of HDPE).
      The hole for the lens should be sealed to the level of IPx5, without the use of screws/bolts/any kind of fasteners.

please see the attached picture:
      Sealing the lens.jpg

the main issue I identified is that if I will use any kind of face gasket, it will be very difficult to seal the surfaces at the sides.

Assuming I will manage to create some kind of force to press the gasket at the front area of the lens (using an additional plastic part, on the inside, which will press the lens against the front area of the enclosure - a "sandwich" configuration: Lens between 2 plastic parts), there will be no such force to press the gasket against the plastic at the sides.

1. Any ideas on how to solve this?
      2. How can I ensure proper sealing in such challenging design configuration, around the entire lens?
      3. Could someone please refer me to design guide(s) for sealing without fasteners? Does this method (not using fasteners) give reliable results, or there is no way to really seal products reliably without the use of fasteners?

Thanks in advance!

3. Erich

Erich Well-Known Member

I have one word for you. Adhesives.

4. Mark_Armstrong

Mark_Armstrong Active Member

Not my line of work, but I'd look to the adhesives used for attaching windshields to vehicles. Everything is glued in nowadays.

5. Mechanic77

Mechanic77 New Member