• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Silicone molds, and urethane casting

Discussion in 'Prototyping & low-volume processes' started by stewlenox, Jul 31, 2009.

1. stewlenox

stewlenox Active Member

Hi all,
      If any of you need to know the "tricks" of casting in color using silicone molds and urethanes I can probably help you out, and maybe save you some money too. I have extensive experience with it.

3. GarethW

GarethW Chief Clicker Staff Member

Hey stewlenox,

Thanks - I'm sure your experience is going to prove extremely useful in these forums. That's exactly what this place is all about!

If you already have any design guides for this kind of thing please feel free to add them to this thread, or create a relevant thread.

By the way, is silicone mold/urethane casting the same as "vacuum casting"? What are the main applications (& quantities) for this kind of technique?

4. wangyangzhong

wangyangzhong Member

usually we use such silicon molds for samples or prototypes,
      the molds life is very short, around 10-50 shots(depends on part and mold structure).
      but cost and lead time are probably 1%-5% of making a steel mold.
      additionally, it's ok to make some special features like under-cut.
      while impossible in steel molds.

Stephen

5. stewlenox

stewlenox Active Member

Hi Gareth,
      There are several types of "vacuum casting" these days. The jewelry industry now uses vacuum casting in the lost wax process. It uses a slightly porous mold which is vacuumed from the bottom as metal is poured into the top. This is replacing centrifugal casting.