• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • SolidWorks 2010 - anyone upgraded yet?

    Discussion in 'SolidWorks' started by MechEngineer, Feb 15, 2010.

    1. MechEngineer

      MechEngineer Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2009
      Posts:
      20
      Likes Received:
      0
      I'm still on SW 2009. Should I dare to upgrade to 2010? Are we on a decent service pack yet? I don't want to go through the pain I went through with SW 2009. I think I jumped into that one a bit too early :shock:
       
    2.  
    3. Eltron

      Eltron New Member

      Joined:
      Feb 2010
      Posts:
      1
      Likes Received:
      0
      I'm on 2010, and I haven't had any issues. If you're on a 64 bit system you might want to do a little research. I know they had a big issue with SP2.
       
    4. ConnectUTS

      ConnectUTS Active Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2009
      Posts:
      35
      Likes Received:
      0
      I am running 2010 on a X64 machine the only issue I have had is that installations from the web take for ever. Plan on doing it over a long lunch are when you have other work to do.

      I am currently on SP2.1

      Niel
       
    5. LinkedIn Gopher

      LinkedIn Gopher Little furry chap

      Joined:
      Feb 2010
      Posts:
      233
      Likes Received:
      1
      You bet. From the first day it was released. On SP2.1 now. It's a fantastic upgrade. Sort of like 2009, on steroids. I recommend it whole-heartedly.
       
    6. LinkedIn Gopher

      LinkedIn Gopher Little furry chap

      Joined:
      Feb 2010
      Posts:
      233
      Likes Received:
      1
    7. LinkedIn Gopher

      LinkedIn Gopher Little furry chap

      Joined:
      Feb 2010
      Posts:
      233
      Likes Received:
      1
      My guys are using 2010 64bit, have not reported any problems, rendering is much improved esp with large assemblies.
       
    8. LinkedIn Gopher

      LinkedIn Gopher Little furry chap

      Joined:
      Feb 2010
      Posts:
      233
      Likes Received:
      1
      Upgraded from 2009 in mid-January. No problems thus far. Looks like a good upgrade.
       
    9. LinkedIn Gopher

      LinkedIn Gopher Little furry chap

      Joined:
      Feb 2010
      Posts:
      233
      Likes Received:
      1
      We have upgraded to 2010 (64bit).
      Very please with it - once we downloaded the 5Gb service pack upgrade...
      Also noticed they were very quick to offer a fix for the serious photoworks bug last month.
      Now we just have to wait for our customers to upgrade too.
       
    10. GarethW

      GarethW Chief Clicker Staff Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2009
      Posts:
      1,424
      Likes Received:
      5
      I waited until service pack 2 before I upgraded (did it the other day, actually).
      I'm having problems with thumbnails. They aren't viewable in windows explorer OR within SW. Really annoying - had a similar problem with the 2009 release. Trying to resolve this with support at the moment, but if anyone can offer a good solution here is would be most appreciated.
       
    11. LinkedIn Gopher

      LinkedIn Gopher Little furry chap

      Joined:
      Feb 2010
      Posts:
      233
      Likes Received:
      1
      Sounds like an issue with either your SW install or Windows... most likely the icon cache in Windows is corrupted. There are a number of ways to fix it. Do a Google on "Fix Windows Icon Cache". There is also a great little utility called TuneUp Utilities 2010 that has a feature that fixes such things.
       

    Share This Page