• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • SolidWorks 2010 - anyone upgraded yet?

    Discussion in 'SolidWorks' started by MechEngineer, Feb 15, 2010.

    1. MechEngineer

      MechEngineer Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2009
      Posts:
      20
      Likes Received:
      0
      I'm still on SW 2009. Should I dare to upgrade to 2010? Are we on a decent service pack yet? I don't want to go through the pain I went through with SW 2009. I think I jumped into that one a bit too early :shock:
       
    2.  
    3. Eltron

      Eltron New Member

      Joined:
      Feb 2010
      Posts:
      1
      Likes Received:
      0
      I'm on 2010, and I haven't had any issues. If you're on a 64 bit system you might want to do a little research. I know they had a big issue with SP2.
       
    4. ConnectUTS

      ConnectUTS Active Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2009
      Posts:
      35
      Likes Received:
      0
      I am running 2010 on a X64 machine the only issue I have had is that installations from the web take for ever. Plan on doing it over a long lunch are when you have other work to do.

      I am currently on SP2.1

      Niel
       
    5. LinkedIn Gopher

      LinkedIn Gopher Little furry chap

      Joined:
      Feb 2010
      Posts:
      233
      Likes Received:
      1
      You bet. From the first day it was released. On SP2.1 now. It's a fantastic upgrade. Sort of like 2009, on steroids. I recommend it whole-heartedly.
       
    6. LinkedIn Gopher

      LinkedIn Gopher Little furry chap

      Joined:
      Feb 2010
      Posts:
      233
      Likes Received:
      1
    7. LinkedIn Gopher

      LinkedIn Gopher Little furry chap

      Joined:
      Feb 2010
      Posts:
      233
      Likes Received:
      1
      My guys are using 2010 64bit, have not reported any problems, rendering is much improved esp with large assemblies.
       
    8. LinkedIn Gopher

      LinkedIn Gopher Little furry chap

      Joined:
      Feb 2010
      Posts:
      233
      Likes Received:
      1
      Upgraded from 2009 in mid-January. No problems thus far. Looks like a good upgrade.
       
    9. LinkedIn Gopher

      LinkedIn Gopher Little furry chap

      Joined:
      Feb 2010
      Posts:
      233
      Likes Received:
      1
      We have upgraded to 2010 (64bit).
      Very please with it - once we downloaded the 5Gb service pack upgrade...
      Also noticed they were very quick to offer a fix for the serious photoworks bug last month.
      Now we just have to wait for our customers to upgrade too.
       
    10. GarethW

      GarethW Chief Clicker Staff Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2009
      Posts:
      1,429
      Likes Received:
      5
      I waited until service pack 2 before I upgraded (did it the other day, actually).
      I'm having problems with thumbnails. They aren't viewable in windows explorer OR within SW. Really annoying - had a similar problem with the 2009 release. Trying to resolve this with support at the moment, but if anyone can offer a good solution here is would be most appreciated.
       
    11. LinkedIn Gopher

      LinkedIn Gopher Little furry chap

      Joined:
      Feb 2010
      Posts:
      233
      Likes Received:
      1
      Sounds like an issue with either your SW install or Windows... most likely the icon cache in Windows is corrupted. There are a number of ways to fix it. Do a Google on "Fix Windows Icon Cache". There is also a great little utility called TuneUp Utilities 2010 that has a feature that fixes such things.
       

    Share This Page

    By using this website you agree to our Cookies usage. We and our partners operate globally and use cookies, including for analytics, personalisation, ads and Newsletters