• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • SolidWorks2013 crashes on "file>new"

    Discussion in 'SolidWorks' started by Pj3r, Aug 7, 2013.

    1. Pj3r

      Pj3r New Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2013
      Posts:
      4
      Likes Received:
      0
      Hi everybody,

      I'm a bit at my wit's end, really hoping anyone here is able to help me..


      Solidworks works perfectly fine on my desktop.
      However, now I've bought a laptop (brand-spanking new) and it sort-of works...
      Thing is when I click file>new (or the new-button) the program just crashes...
      The program will run otherwise (opening other drawings works)
      Toolbox is installed correctly.

      Now, this is a clean laptop with everything on it I installed myself. Am I forgetting something? All drivers seem to be there, but are there other programs it needs like codecs or stuff?
      I looked at the website and all specs should be fine. I even have word/excel.



      Is it because my system lists 2 graphic cards under devices?
      Is it because I've forgotten anything during installation of everything?

      System specs of the laptop:
      Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
      Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4700MQ CPU @ 2.40GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.4GHz
      Memory: 16 GB
      DirectX Version: DirectX 11

      Graphic card
      Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600 2gb video ram
      AMD Radeon HD 8970M graphics card 4gb video ram
      (I'm not sure if I installed correctly, but Windows kept saying there a 2 devices there. No problems on other programs/high-end games and such)

      120 GB SSD SAMSUNG 840
      750 GB WD Scorpio Black 7200rpm

      Installation has been on both the SSD as the "normal" hard drive. Same problem on both.

      Oh and my apologies for barging in like this, with this being my first post..

       
    2.  
    3. Pj3r

      Pj3r New Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2013
      Posts:
      4
      Likes Received:
      0
      Installed .NET framework 4.5, updated windows (with optional updates this time) and it works now.... So to any and all; try the .NET Framework when experiencing the same....

      Thanks to anyone who was thinking with me :)
       
    4. Mark Stapleton

      Mark Stapleton Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 2012
      Posts:
      38
      Likes Received:
      0
      First, never any need to apologize for asking questions. That's what these forums are for.

      You didn't say whether you encountered any error messages when initially installing SolidWorks, so I'll assume you didn't. The most common problems with installation of SolidWorks can often be traced to video drivers, although there's certainly no guarantee that's the problem. If you can, try to DE-install the driver for the Intel video and see if that helps. If you can't (or for the next step) try to either update the driver for the Radeon or go back to an earlier driver. Not all new drivers work as well as old drivers for some circuitry with SolidWorks ... it's kinda quirky. If you can't solve it like that, try restoring to an earlier Windows configuration. If all else fails re-install Windows afresh and let the first software you install thereafter be SolidWorks.
       
    5. Pj3r

      Pj3r New Member

      Joined:
      Aug 2013
      Posts:
      4
      Likes Received:
      0
      @Mark Stapleton

      As stated the problem was solved by (I think) installing the .NET framework 4.5...
      If any problems address itself in the future, I'll keep your solution in mind tho; it sounds very logical.
      Tnx anyway! :)
       

    Share This Page