• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Spur gears wont mesh up

Discussion in 'SolidWorks' started by PutJ, Jan 14, 2013.

1. PutJ

PutJ New Member

Hi all,

My name is Jay and I am fairly new to the hole solidworks thing (including spur gears). I am trying to get some gearing to work, but the gears just wont line up.

The gears are evolvent module 4 and created by the toolbox (ANSI Metric > Power Transmissions > Gears > Spur Gear). The center distances are as many calculators give me, but the bottom gear (T3) just wont line up. What am I doing wrong? :confused:

Center distances:
      T1 > T272,000mm
      T2a > T2101,823mm
      T2 > T388,000mm
      T1 > T3122,689mm

[​IMG]

Thanks in advance!

Cheers,
      J

3. lumagm

lumagm New Member

How made your calculation? Did you take in consideration the velocity of each spur gear, the material of them, and verify if the modules you chosen are right? Using solidworks toolbox is a handy way to design spur but after you calculate what you need for input in that toolbox. The info given is not useful - from my point of view - to find what is wrong in this design. From where start movement and with which speed? This is only for distraction or you want developed real engineering skills? If you want to understand how to do this I can help you but need to communicate more info about this mechanism.

4. wklein

wklein New Member

Hi, try taking out one of the T2 gears and see what happens.

5. vic.blackall

vic.blackall Well-Known Member

Your system will not work. If you need a drive as illustrated then gear T2A or T2B needs to be, say double width and the lower T3 off set to miss the other T2/3 gear.

6. ShoN

ShoN Active Member

You can do it with mitcalc, Mitcalc - addons for SW

7. Ramana Rao

Ramana Rao Well-Known Member

The Arrangement will work , If you change T2a>T2 and T1>T3 to values which are dividable with 4.

8. PutJ

PutJ New Member