• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • What don't graduates know?

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by Matchbook, Feb 10, 2015.

1. Matchbook

Matchbook New Member

Hello, I'm new here. I work as a CAD Engineer for a small R&D company, it is my first role since uni, where I graduated with a degree in Design Engineering.

I would be the first to admit that although I hold a degree, there is a world of knowledge which I do not not know. I find this is especially apparent in comparison with peers of mine who did apprenticeships, most notably practical knowledge. A understand that a degree does open doors that wouldn't be otherwise available.

My question; What do you think are the main areas that graduate don't know? gaps in knowledge?
      What do you find surprising that graduates don't know?

I am looking to fill those gaps and find that my job does not allow that time to do it at work. Thank you in advance

3. Erich

Erich Well-Known Member

Engineering degrees don't cover a lot about manufacturing processes, the tolerances they can achieve and the details that make a part easy to build for a given process. You are expected to pick that up as you go along. On the job training as it were.

Spend as much time as you can on the shop floor. Make friends with the machinists and fabricators. They will be happy to explain what makes their jobs easier and what makes life hell.

4. 4t8

4t8 New Member

Erich makes a great point.
      "Spend as much time as you can on the shop floor. Make friends with the machinists and fabricators. They will be happy to explain what makes their jobs easier and what makes life hell."
      A lot of the time the production folk don't speak up (for any number of reasons) when parts/assemblies aren't manufacturing friendly.
      The more you guys talk the better your designs will be.

5. zaccutt

zaccutt Member

I love this question.