• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • What is this area of study called?

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by Goldenwheatfield, Dec 9, 2014.

1. Goldenwheatfield

Goldenwheatfield Member

Hello all, I am a freshman enrolled in Mechanical engineering.
      Growing up, I have always been fascinated by the LEGO technic toys and the real-life machines and wondered how do engineers design these machines and mechanisms.

When someone design a complex machine or a mechanism, how do they figure out the size of each components(gears, axle, pulleyes...etc) inside the machine? And how do they decide on what machine elements they are going to use and place them in which places inside the machine..etc ? Decisions on shape of each elements..etc
      They must have the ability to see the big picture in the back of their mind and visualize the the whole mechanism working to achieve the desired functions.

As above, I want to know more on this area. But I do not know where to look for.
      I asked a professor and he told me to look into synthesis or machinery.

Help would be greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

3. Lochnagar

Lochnagar Well-Known Member

Hi Goldenwheatfield,

I see you are from Canada - and from your pseudonym - I am going to take a guess - you are probably somewhere near the Canadian Prairies - which is an area that is a great producer of wheat - and lots of farm machinery.

I was brought up on a small farm - and I found farm machinery very interesting - because you have a wide variety of mechanical and electrical systems, like:-
      Engines, gearboxes, hydro-static transmissions, clutches, hydraulics, sometimes pneumatic's, chain drives, belt drives, shaft drives, mechanisms, electrics, electronics, and now software too.

So I would try and get a holiday job on a farm - and I am sure you would learn a lot from the wide variety of machinery you would come across - and realizing its limitations - and why it has these limitations.