• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Where to start?

Discussion in 'Industrial design' started by rgreig, Dec 5, 2012.

1. rgreig

rgreig New Member

I'm a mechanical engineer by trade, but I'm coming to realize that I love the industrial design side of product development.

Where should I start to make the transition from very technical work to a more creative field?

All of my design experience is with solidworks, but I feel like solidworks is so constrained by manufacturability. My hand sketching skills are pretty poor.

Thanks guys!

3. other

other Member

try some new soft such like rhino, alias, 3dmax, these is used for industrial design, if u can work on it well, maybe u can chagne to that field

4. lumagm

lumagm New Member

Your question seams to me that you don't understand the creativity in field of industrial design. When you design a product, you need to visualize how the product will be realized in real world, because if your product is very good in your opinion it is possible not find the necessary technology for made it. So, first of all, you need to know the technology used in your field of interest, meaning you can create only constrained by manufacturability. If you don't want your product design to become a finished product than... you speak about something else.

5. prattdesigning

prattdesigning New Member

I'm a mechanical designer. I started out very young just sketching every and anything I could think of. I would start there. Let your mind run free and just start sketching or even using Solidworks to create new shapes and designs. Challenge yourself to get better. I use Autodesk Inventor and continually challenge myself to design better. Being creative in your designs just requires you to think outside your box. Good luck.

6. Parrleu

Parrleu Well-Known Member

Hi rgreig,

It seems like there are a multitude of options for going for this now.