• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Which is better: a "lightweight" design or a "green" design?

Discussion in 'The main mechanical design forum' started by GarethW, Jul 6, 2011.

?

Which one is best?

1. Lightweight's definitely the best

0 vote(s)
      0.0%
    2. Green's the best, actually

0 vote(s)
      0.0%
    3. An equal "lightweight-to-green" ratio would be a healthy compromise

66.7%
    4. Mainly lightweight but slightly green

0 vote(s)
      0.0%
    5. Mainly green but slightly lightweight

0 vote(s)
      0.0%
    6. Prefer heavy and environmentally unfriendly anyway

0 vote(s)
      0.0%
    7. Rhubarb! Rhubarb!

0 vote(s)
      0.0%
    8. None of the above.

33.3%
    1. GarethW

GarethW Chief Clicker Staff Member

Strange question of the month. Discuss.

3. KevinC

KevinC Well-Known Member

Re: Which is better: a "lightweight" design or a "green" des

If cost, weight, size doesn't matter. I'll choose the green design. I think as a mechanical engineer, I always want to design with "green" in my head as much as possible, but if the product tries to be "green" and it doesn't sell, it doesn't help the industry at all to be green.

4. OllieT

OllieT Member

Can I choose both? If a green design weighed the same as a non-green design, then I would say the green design would be more popular. But that's only based on the fact that weight is the issue or only issue. What about performance or size or other parameters? I think the goal is to equal all non-green factors and parameters in designing a green design.

5. MikahB

MikahB Member