• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Why are 3D modellers so bad with 2D data?

    Discussion in '2D and 3D CAD general discussion forum' started by GarethW, Oct 25, 2010.

    1. GarethW

      GarethW Chief Clicker Staff Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2009
      Posts:
      1,424
      Likes Received:
      5
      Why, oh why can't they handle it? They're OK with all that horrifically complex 3D data, but import a relatively simple 2D PCB layout to a sketch and it's time to go and make cup of tea while you wait for something to happen!
       
    2.  
    3. Dana

      Dana Well-Known Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2010
      Posts:
      342
      Likes Received:
      3
      What modeler? I never had that problem with KeyCreator.
       
    4. GarethW

      GarethW Chief Clicker Staff Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2009
      Posts:
      1,424
      Likes Received:
      5
      SolidWorks, Pro/Engineer, Autodesk Inventor
       
    5. Dana

      Dana Well-Known Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2010
      Posts:
      342
      Likes Received:
      3
      KeyCreator... :D :D :D
       
    6. Garf255

      Garf255 Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2010
      Posts:
      23
      Likes Received:
      0
      I think it's usually because of the way that PCB design tools create the geometry, they use a lot of small lines and splines to create the 2D board layout which results in lots of 2D geometry to be processed.

      Are you using DXF or another format to transfer the data from PCB to SolidWorks?

      Steve
       
    7. GarethW

      GarethW Chief Clicker Staff Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2009
      Posts:
      1,424
      Likes Received:
      5
      I usually import the PCB layout into a 2D package (the DWG editor that comes with SolidWorks). I then delete all the layers I don't need, then delete as much geometry as possible that's unnecessary, then smash it all to 1 layer.
       
    8. Garf255

      Garf255 Member

      Joined:
      Sep 2010
      Posts:
      23
      Likes Received:
      0
      Have you tried using an IDF format?

      Steve
       
    9. GarethW

      GarethW Chief Clicker Staff Member

      Joined:
      Jul 2009
      Posts:
      1,424
      Likes Received:
      5
      DXF into SolidWorks ...such a pain.

      I'm currently going through the pain of handling a "massive" 2MB DXF file. Just impossible to work with...

      Such a shame that DraftSight is so crap (more info on why here). It would be good to be able to do a decent editing job before improting to SW.
       
    10. superdave42

      superdave42 Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2010
      Posts:
      5
      Likes Received:
      0
      I think it could be that the 3d modellers are trying to add auto relations to all of the entities and is thinking long and hard about it.
      Try turning off auto relations and see if it speeds up
       

    Share This Page