• Welcome to engineeringclicks.com
  • Would Fusion 3-D suit my needs?

Discussion in 'Help, info & forum announcements' started by chris watton, Jan 13, 2019.

1. chris watton

chris watton New Member

Hi,

I have been designing scale model kits for the retail market for a couple of decades. I worked for a large Italian manufacturer for a long time, but last year, after being asked to make one silly development too many (that I knew was a waste of time and would not sell), I decided to cut my losses and start to develop and sell my own products.

With that in mind, I sold some assists to invest in new developments, and during this time, I realise just how important 3-D printing is, and how easy it can be to design fittings (like cannon barrels, winch drums, anchors etc.) that have the minutest historical detail on them. But I have always use 2-D for the designs and construction plans.

At the moment, I use the latest TurboCad software, which is absolutely fine for 2-D work. What I do is get copies of the original plans, scale them down and import them (usually TIFF or PDF format) into my workspace, the lines are copied (using simple line and curve commands) and then the various components drawn.

However, when it comes to 3-D work, and more specifically, 3-D work that is intended to create master fittings to be made on a 3-D printer, this is where TurboCad is a little clunky - not helped, I guess, by the fact that I haven't learnt to use that aspect as much as I should.

Would a program like Fusion 3D suite my needs for this type of work? Would it allow me import plans and 'trace' over the lines over the scale drawings easily?

Also, I would like to try and draw the decoration, like figureheads and stern carvings (I have attached a couple of pictures to show the type of work I would need to do). Is this possible? I have also attached a small copy of the plans I need to import into the program to then copy.